7. On Page 461—4.

The honey of bees is an apparent exception from the rule that the

products of the unclean animals are forbidden. The honey mentioned in

the Bible is mostly the juice of fruit, especially of dates; but the

honey of bees is also mentioned (Judges xiv. 8). It is assumed that

honey does not contain any part of the bee itself, but is merely the

juice of the flowers sucked and again discharged by the bees. (See

Babyl. Talm., Bechoroth 7b; Maim., Mishneh-torah, Hil. maachaloth

asuroth iii. 3.)

Note 8.

In addition to the things enumerated in this chapter as forbidden,

there is the prohibition of “wine of libation” (‏יין נסך‎). Everything

used in the worship of idols was condemned, and could not serve as

food, drink, or any purpose; it was ‏אסור בהנאה‎. Wine was frequently

used by heathens in libations to their idols. The wine of a heathen was

therefore always suspected of having been employed in idolatrous

libations, and was consequently forbidden as ‏יין נסך‎. Since, however,

such libations have ceased this prohibition has also lapsed.

It has, however, not lapsed in its entirety. It is only the ‏אסור הנאה‎

that is no longer in force. The prohibition of using wine prepared by

non-Jews (‏סתם יין‎) as a beverage still continues. This and similar

prohibitions were intended as a barrier against the increase of mixed

marriages among the Jews. (Comp. Babyl. Talm., Shabbath 17b.)

The Jewish religion · 第 122 / 151 题